## **SCREC RENEWAL FAQ 2022**

IMPORTANT RENEWAL INFORMATION - 2022 RENEWALS BEGIN MAY 2nd.

South Carolina Real Estate Licensees with a June 30, 2022 expiration date may begin renewing their licenses on May 2, 2022.

We encourage all licensees to please renew online. Individuals who are required to report disciplinary action, criminal convictions or pending criminal charges since last renewal will need to submit additional documentation and will be provided an email address during the renewal process for submission.

Please read FAQs and login help instructions carefully and make sure you are entering USER ID and password exactly when attempting to log-in.

In addition to online renewals, printable renewal applications will also be available on our website. Please do not walk-in applications. Please mail any printable renewal applications with check or money order. Please do not mail cash.

If you do not have a current email address on file with the Commission to reset your password or receive your USER ID, please email <u>Contact.REC@llr.sc.gov</u> with your name, license number and the last 5 digits of your SSN and request an email address update. We strongly encourage you to use your permanent personal email address rather than a work email address so that you don't have to update your email each time you change companies.

USER ID information will be included in the header of your renewal notice. Password information will NOT be provided. You will need to have an up to date email address to reset your password or to recover your USER ID online.

If you do not know your password, click on the "Recover/Reset My Password" link at the bottom of the Renew Online webpage. If you do not know your USER ID, there is also a USER ID request link.

Pocket cards must be mailed to the office location of the supervising Broker or Property Manager in Charge. We also encourage you to **READ CAREFULLY**. All routine questions regarding renewal can be found in this Renewal FAQ.

In order to renew as active, Salesperson and Broker licensees who are not exempt from completing South Carolina Continuing Education (CE) must have completed ten (10) hours of CE. Four (4) of these hours must include the core course, and the additional six hours may be comprised of electives. (BIC licensees will need 8 mandatory hours including 4 hour BIC Duties and Responsibilities class and the 4 hour core course. BIC's will only need 2 hours of electives.) A regularly updated calendar of upcoming CE courses is available at the following link: <a href="http://lironline.com/POL/REC/recpdf/Doc151.pdf">http://lironline.com/POL/REC/recpdf/Doc151.pdf</a>

Remember that licenses which expire on June 30, 2022 and are not renewed before January 1, 2023 will be canceled by statute. After the June 30th expiration date, an additional \$15 late fee will accrue for each month it is late. As a South Carolina Real Estate Licensee, it is your responsibility to keep up with your expiration date and to renew. Licensees are required to renew whether or not they receive notice.

I DO NOT KNOW MY EXPIRATION DATE: If you are not sure of your license expiration date, please utilize our licensee lookup to confirm your date: <u>Licensee LookUp</u>.

# **SCREC RENEWAL FAQ 2022**

## **Renewal Highlights:**

• **Online renewal is strongly encouraged** and the quickest way to have your renewal processed and for us to update any changes in contact information or license status.

• Please renew before the deadline.

• <u>All renewing in 2022 will need fingerprint background check clearance to remain active or</u> <u>prior to reactivation.</u> Please see the following link: <u>BACKROUND CHECK FAQ</u>

• <u>Please do not wait until the last minute to attempt to renew</u>. The Commission may be working with limited office staffing due to COVID-19. Phone support availability will be limited.

• <u>Please do not mail checks with your renewal notice or without completing a proper renewal</u> <u>application</u>. ALSO please do not mail renewal application without a check or money order for <u>payment</u>. One cannot be processed without the other.

• <u>Please read questions very carefully when completing the online renewal application</u> and answer appropriately. An inadvertent "yes" answer could have you kicked out of the application and require that you contact our office to have your online application reset.

• <u>Please complete your own renewal</u>. You as the licensee have to affirm and represent to SCREC accurate information regarding your CE, disciplinary or criminal history. Do not rely on others as you can be disciplined for misrepresentation or canceled for failure to complete your renewal.

• <u>Please confirm your renewal by going to licensee lookup more than 24 hours after</u> <u>completing online renewal.</u> Many licensees begin the process and do not submit payment up expiring because the process was not completed, you can confirm your renewal through the licensee lookup link on our webpage.

## How do I renew my license?

You can login through online services and pay via credit card or electronic check. The renewal link will be posted on the SC Real Estate Commission's main webpage.

### How much are the biennial renewal fees?

- Broker-in-Charge/Property Manager-in-Charge: \$75 per office supervised
- Broker/Property Manager: \$55
- Salesperson: \$45
- Timeshare Salesperson: \$50

\*fees will be the same whether active or inactive status.

### What are the penalties for late renewal?

Licenses expire on June 30<sup>th</sup> and an expired licensee is considered unlicensed to practice real estate in South Carolina. Late renewal fee: Accrues at a rate of \$15 per month, licenses not renewed 6 months after expiration are canceled by law.